African Union (The Assembly)

African Union (AU) is an organization consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries
of the African Continent.

The African Union (AU) was officially launched in July 2002 in South Africa following a decision made by the organization of African unity (OAU) to create a new continental organisation to
increase solidarity and cooperation among African countries. The decision to re-launch the organisation was the outcome of a consensus found by African leaders in order to realise Africa’s
potentials as there was a need to refocus attention from the fight for decolonisation and ridding the
continent of apartheid which had been the focus of the OAU towards increased cooperation and
integration of African states to drive Africa’s growth and economic development.

The work of the AU is implemented through several principal decision making organs:The Assembly
of Heads of State and Government, the Executive Council, the Permanent Representatives Committee
(PRC), Specialised Technical Committees (STCs), the Peace and Security Council and The African Union

AU stands for ‘A United and Strong Africa’.

Agenda Items:
-Conflicts in great lake region
-Horn of Africa, food and refugee crisis

Under Secretary General: Hümeyra Ayvaz
Academic Assistant: Hassan Lamin

Country Matrix Study Guide


Committee Gallery Coffe Break Gallery Closing Ceremony Gallery